Starting a cosplay group?

The real heart of CAA; discuss specific series, issues, and things related to anime here.

Starting a cosplay group?

Postby Koneko-chan » Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:28 pm

I hope this is the right category for this ^^'. Okaay, so, I've been brainstorming for a while now, maybe since August, maybe a few months before August in 2012, And I'm utterly hopeless! I've gotten ideas for a cosplay group, what to do during the cosplay meetings, but I have no idea how to start one.

I might have a few friends that'll join once I tell them eventually, and I heard it helps if your friends have other friends who like cosplay and anime, my cousin has.. Like, ALOT. My other cousin also has ALOT, and my friend, who's in a fencing team, alot of them in the fencing team are otakus! My best friend (Not a fan of anime) says she has a friend in highschool who adores anime, she's like, 15. But, for me, I'm homeschooled, I have no activities, I used to do dance, but not anymore after I moved, and basically, I kinda have no connections. And my mom likes the idea of a cosplay group, but if I made a meetup, she's concerned about what people would go. I've done my research on any meetups, I found this one cosplay group close by, but their pretty much all 18 and up people in it, didn't say what age could come, but I'd feel uncomfortable with a bunch of adults, my sister adores anime as much as I do, but she's just as loose in connections, I just feel kinda stuck here. Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance guys! <3