Ask a Semi-Professional!

Homework giving you a headache? Math gives you a migraine? Can't quite figure out how to do something in photoshop? Never fear, the other members of CAA share their expertise in this forum.

Ask a Semi-Professional!

Postby Haibane Shadsie » Sat Dec 20, 2003 9:02 pm

Well, since this new forum is here, I thought I'd offer my assistance to those in need, perhaps.

I happen to be a graphic designer. I have an Assoicate's Degree in it. (I'd like to get a Bachelor's, eventually, but I'm too poor to go back to college right now). I work part time for a small town newspaper, and I do freelance work. I've *almost* got the required two-year's experience under my belt to get a better paying and more reliable job, but... eh, I'm only struggling right now because I'm frequently late to work, don't have a lot of personal self-confidence, and my work ethic stinks.

But, yeah... I do graphic design and get paid for it... it is my job title, so I am a "professional". I work for print-media, which is what I studied for. I do know some basic html, but I did not major in web design. I like print, and I wanted to work for print.

I can answer questions related to graphic design for print, if anyone needs me. I can tell you all about file types (my Photo-Digital Imaging class teacher made us do file-formatting to death, so... knowing the properties and qualities of diffrent file types is one of my strong points), resolutions, color-modes, and color separations. Do you have something (perhaps a comic you've done?) that you wish to take to a print-house, but are confused as to how to handle C M Y K seperations? Ask me! Are you confused as to what resolutions your files should be in to make a good print as opposed to screen-resolution for viewing on the web? Ask me!

I don't think I can answer all questions, though... just offering my help for those that I can answer, for anyone who might wish to ask.