How to draw the Manga/Anime body?

Homework giving you a headache? Math gives you a migraine? Can't quite figure out how to do something in photoshop? Never fear, the other members of CAA share their expertise in this forum.

How to draw the Manga/Anime body?

Postby The Last Bard » Wed Nov 17, 2004 1:36 pm

:?: I like to think I'm a pretty good anime artist, but no, I'm not.
I can draw any kind of head in front, side, left, right, and 3/4 view.
But when it comes to drawing the body, or the head when looking up at it...Or from the back...(Anything I didn't just list :shake: ) I don't have the foggiest idea on how it should look or how I should even start!

Lol, don't even get me started on the body! :stressed: I need help, and I've already been to polykarbon and a lot of other sites.

Thanks a million (In advance) guy! :thumb:
The Last Bard

Postby Jasdero » Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:21 am

o.o Have you tried any "How To Draw Manga" books? There's a series that goes by that very name. Great stuff. :3
× s h i n i e s , y e s ? ×

does it not burn... LIKE THE SUN?!
Jasdero

Postby mechana2015 » Sat Nov 20, 2004 11:36 am

Another thing to do would be to start drawing them looking at the tutorials, or even better, another person, or yourself in the mirror and then use a site like the gallery here or deviant art to get critiques on what you drew, then try again and repeat until you like what you see.

My Deviantart
"MOES. I can has Sane Sig now?"
mechana2015

Postby Kireihana » Sat Nov 20, 2004 2:53 pm

Personally I don't really like the How to Draw manga books all that much... they have all these complicated ways of using geometric shapes and whatnot, and to me drawing a bunch of cylinders and spheres stuck together seems like an awful lot of extra work. (What can I say, I'm a very lazy artist ^^) However, this works very well for some people; you just have to determine what kind of person you are.