Flightless - A story by Felix

Unleash your creative writing skills here.

Flightless - A story by Felix

Postby Felix » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:33 pm

Hey everyone! =D I know I'm a bit of a stranger around these parts these days, but I still lurk around now and again, and I still love the place. Anyhoo, I've got a new story I've been working on lately. Normally I'm a slow writer, but I've already written almost 20k words on this one in about 4 and a half days, so that's pretty good for me haha. I have eight chapters written, but I'm just gonna start by posting the first chapter here, and just seeing how it goes. If someone likes it and wants me to post more, I will.
Anyway, here's chapter one of Flightless. Enjoy!

-==================================-

Flightless

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Chapter 1 – Flight

It all started with five simple words – well, four words and a name, really.

“Don’t be a scaredywing, Mark.”

I glanced down, and saw, beyond my faintly quivering knees and past my brown, sun-baked toes, the cliff face plunging away in a jagged wall of varying shades of stone and mineral, before losing itself in a thick blanket of creamy white cloud. Milky limestone swirled and mingled with coarse brown sandstone, while glittering patches of quartz peered amiably from sun-kissed recesses. All told, it was a beautiful sight, but at the moment, I was not concerned with the view.