Japanese food/restaurant

Talk about anything in here.

Japanese food/restaurant

Postby GeneD » Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:18 am

So I'm taking my whole family to a Japanese restaurant near my house tomorrow over lunch time and I just know they are all going to ask me about the food/what to order, when the fact is I have no more experience than they do, so... does anyone have any advice for me? I'm pretty excited and I'm sure it functions just like any other restaurant but I thought I'd ask anyway.

If you eat Japanese food/eat out at Japanese restaurants regularly what do you prefer to order? Anyone got any interesting experiences to share? What would you recommend to someone who's never had Japanese food besides sushi before? Discussion of Japanese food in general is welcome too of course. ^__^
GeneD

Re: Japanese food/restaurant

Postby shooraijin » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:20 am

When I lived in my cramped apartment, oddly enough a midrange upscale Japanese joint was barely a mile away, so I ate there a lot. They had a dinner combination of steak teriyaki, tempura assortment (shrimp and vegetables), salad, miso and a sashimi side of red tuna (maguro) and "whitefish" (red snapper or similar). I now live about 20 minutes away from there, but I still get the same thing and the waitresses still remember me. If I order sushi, I like salmon and tamago (sweet egg). The other Japanese place I frequent, I get chicken teriyaki, two orders of salmon sushi (4) and an order of tamago.

So here's my worth-as-much-as-anyone-else's advice:

Everybody likes chicken teriyaki and it's hard for places to mess that up. Beef teriyaki can be a mixed bag: some places it's actually steak ( :thumb: ) and some places it's sliced beef that's stir fried (which is okay) and some can be chopped patties or even ground beef. When it's good, it's great, but it's not always good. Salmon teriyaki can be easily overcooked.