Gaming and sin

Have a video game or or VG review? This is the place to to discuss it! We also accept discussions of board games and the like, but SHHH! Don't tell anyone, OK?

Gaming and sin

Postby MrKrillz0r » Tue Jun 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Heya dude's, I don't know where to start really and I don't know if I should post this here or not so please don't bash me. :D
Recently I've started to question myself if playing video games really is okey or not (Of course I don't mean all video games, as there is even christian games out there). But if I should make a example I'll take the game "World of Warcraft" which I have been playing for over 2 years. In the game I'm usually playing "PvP" which stands for player versus player, which means I am killing players of the other faction (Alliance / Horde), and in my case the alliance. So in this case I play a tauren druid, which first of all is a human/bull which I'm pretty sure is from some kind of mythologi, maybe greek mythologi. And second of all "shapeshifting" is some kind of mythical thing too, I'd guess. And I'm shooting spells and using healing abilities and can ressurect other players. This have never bothered me really but recently I've started to ask myself is this really okey? Myself I only play the game to have fun with friends as I love playing games where tactics and skill is needed and you can play with your friends meeting different challanges together. But still, using spells, shapeshifting, all these things is they okey even if its just a game?